Settling In

Standard

The last two weeks have been pretty busy with meeting people, trying to make my flat a bit homier, and continuing on with trying to get processed into Hungary.  (I promise I’m going to try and keep this blog updated on a more regular basis).  

As far as settling in goes, I think I’m making pretty good progress.  I’ve been to the grocery store several times now picking up odds and ends (today I was SO excited to find baking powder, “Sütőpor”, it comes in little packets like most spices here).  I’m slowly learning my way around on the public transport, getting a bit lost occasionally definitely has helped me figure out the system and the easiest way to read my little map =)  

Last Tuesday I was able to go to a small group that meets a few blocks from my house and I’m very excited to start getting involved in it.  The group, at least during the summer, is full of high school graduates who are searching.  I’m hoping and praying to be able to develop relationships with people in the group.  The leaders of the group have also started a Serve the City branch within Budapest as an outreach which I’m also very excited to get involved with.

Later on last week I was also able to go to Vác for the day to help out with an English softball camp that was going on last week.  I only went out for one day because my foot/ankle is still troubling me a bit, but it was so nice to go and help out.  A youth group from the U.S. was there to teach the kids softball in the morning and English in the afternoon.  I ended up helping to prepare dinner for all the teens that evening.  It was very nice to be able to get to know 2 of the families who are living in Vác.  

Last Saturday the youth group all headed to Budapest for souvenirs and sightseeing.  I hung out with them all day and it was such an encouragement to me to be able to be around American-English speakers for an entire day =)  That was also the first that I had actually gone to the touristy places within Budapest – so now when people visit I’ll know where to take them =)  Now I just need to figure out how to get pictures up without a way to get them onto my computer, haha.   

Immigration processing has proved to be a bit of a frustration.  Many of the offices are only open until noon and they send you to several different buildings before you finally arrive at the right one.  As of yesterday I think I’m about halfway done with the paperwork required for a residency permit.  

 

PRAYER NOTE

– that I’ll be able to find out what classes I’ll actually be teaching as soon as possible

– for support to continue to come in

– openness and boldness

– continuing for my foot, it still has days where it throbs a bit and starts to swell

– for my brain to start grasping Hungarian more quickly 

 

One response »

  1. I’m so thankful that you are starting to meet some people. I’m also glad that you’re getting more familiar with with rails, etc. It’ll make your life so much easier.
    I remember how difficult it was not knowing names for ingredients you needed/wanted in the grocery store. My heart use to beat so fast whenever I knew I had to venture to the store – Quite exhausting! I’m happy that you were finally able to find Sütőpor. How about “élesztő” have you been able to find it yet?

    You are going to start picking up the words and phrases faster than you know. 🙂
    I’ll be praying that the immigration finishes up in a timely manner for you. As well as your other prayer requests. Love to you!

Leave a Reply

